What sparked my natural lifestyle?

Or as some call it, “crunchy” lifestyle.

If you know me personally, you know I’m very passionate about using non-toxic products and living a more “natural life”. I’m going to explain why.

About a year ago I realized that both of my dogs were constantly sick. I would have one of them to the vet at least once every six weeks. Lexi, my black lab mix, constantly battled allergies and last year it got to the point where she had a terrible, disgusting & painful ear infection as well as very itchy skin. The vet blamed it on outdoor allergies (which I found odd, considering that this was during the winter time before the big spring allergen surge). For 6 months I battled cleaning out her ears every night and giving her medicine to get rid of the build up in her ear but it never went away until I paid the vet to put her under and scrape the crap out of her ear.

Bentley, on the other hand, had such itchy skin that he was chewing at himself, including his paws, all the time. He would freak out and jump around the room he was so itchy. This went on for at least 8 months and the vet just told me to give him Benadryl. He was also diagnosed with hip dysplasia and locating patella. Both of which caused him serious joint pain.

In the cases of both my babies, I did exactly what the vet told me to with no changes. I have a great vet – he wasn’t the problem. It wasn’t until I started noticing both of my dogs no longer enjoyed their bowls of Beneful dog food, became very sluggish and were throwing up a little stomach acid here and there nearly every day that it wasn’t anything but the allergens, fillers, and (in my opinion) poison that is in most dog foods that was making my babies sick.

I threw the entire bag of Beneful away. Had them on a turkey, broccoli and rice diet for 4 days. Then switched their food to Blue Buffalo.

A year later – Lexi does not suffer from allergies, Bentley does not chew his skin raw, and his joint problems have become a million times better. He will always live with his joint problems, but if I can get away with not giving him pain killers every day, that is true testimony to how much a good diet can help a dog. Especially since he is only 2 years old. Every now and then after playing rough, he’ll start to limp. But it’s not the constant limp he used to have.

After starting my dogs on a natural diet, I realized – why am I eating and using all this toxic stuff when I don’t let my dogs consume anything but natural products? Then I started transitioning into eating clean myself.

Around the same time, I began learning about animal testing and decided I would not put my money toward the torturing of animals. This includes cleaning products, makeup, body care – anything. Generally, cruelty-free products are also more natural and most natural companies are cruelty-free so I started learning about and buying from these companies.

And, that’s it. My furbabies have really influenced me in so many aspects of my life. They have made, and continue to make, me into a much better person.

20130415-163525.jpg

20130415-163557.jpg

Leave a Reply

