26 weeks pregnant

How far along? 26 weeks and 5 days…in the homestretch of the 2nd trimester.
Total weight gain/measurements: When I went in for my 24 week appointment, I weighed in at a whopping 143! Which makes a total of 9 pounds of weight gain.
Maternity clothes: I found a few shirts from Burke’s Outlet in town and ended up buying 2 pairs of shorts in a couple sizes up because I couldn’t find maternity shorts I liked.
Stretch marks: I have a little cluster of 2 or 3 stretch marks on my right hip, they aren’t red or purple though.. just a white-ish color. Not too bad!
Sleep: My Snoogle pregnancy pillow is back in action! I bought it a couple months ago, and about a week after having it my dog decided he would love to chew a hole in it. The hole is right by where my head goes. The pillow itself was expensive, but even the covers are expensive (about $30) so I just went without it for a while…well, I decided I NEEDED to use it again, sleeping is pretty uncomfortable for me at night and I always wake up sleeping on my back. I’ve been using it again for about a week (just bought a new cover) and while I still wake up on my back sometimes, it’s less frequent and I am so much more comfortable at night.
Best moment this week: Probably when I abruptly poked my belly and scared the crap out of him.. I could feel him jump and flail like “What the heck mom! I’m sleeping here!”
Miss anything? I miss sleeping more comfortably. But other than that, I am loving this stage of pregnancy except for a few yucky symptoms.
Movement: Sometimes I feel as if he has a lifelong dream of being in the Olympics and has decided to start training while still in the womb. This kid goes nuts. I’ve started doing kick counts (“just for fun” as my OB told me I wouldn’t need to start them until week 28-30ish). Apparently they are suppose to kick 10 times in max 2 hours. The first day I did it, he reached his 10 kicks in 4 minutes. The second time, 3 minutes. And they usually aren’t just little jabs or flutters.. they are full on uppercuts and big body movements. The ultrasound tech told me I had a squirmy one inside me, she was right!
Food cravings: Nothing terribly specific. I just like to eat a lot 🙂
Anything making you queasy or sick? Ugh…nausea has not been my friend. I’ve noticed that if I have too much sugar, I am so so queasy. Also, because baby is getting bigger and womb space is limited, sometimes the pressure makes me very ill. Daddy was pressing on my belly about a week ago, which never bothers me at all, but when he pressed a certain spot (and pressed right where baby was) I felt like I needed to puke right there. Cute, huh?
Gender: Still a boy.. I hope!
Labour signs: Nope. I had Braxton hicks about a month ago a couple times and haven’t had them since.
Symptoms: Nausea! Shortness of breath. Acne. A bit of ankle swelling, which is a given considering I stand at work all day.
Belly button in or out? In but it’s practically flat.
Wedding rings on or off? On. The only swelling I’ve had is my ankles.
Happy or moody most of the time: Happy but don’t get on my nerves! I have a really short fuse when it comes to rude people and my big mouth might get me into trouble..
Looking forward to: Getting his nursery all set up. I’ve changed my mind about a dozen times on the theme, color, etc. And I think I’ve finally decided on exactly what I want. 🙂 I’m also looking forward to starting his book collection because if he’s going to inherit ANYTHING from me, I hope it’s a love for books!
Leave a Reply

