Baby’s Nursery

The baby’s nursery is starting to come together…and I mean that loosely. It’s not fully cleaned out, though it is for the most part. We moved our computer desk to the garage (we never used it anyway). And now I use my old makeup vanity as my computer/printer desk in the guest room. I rarely sit down and do a full face of makeup. Lack of time, yes, but also because of a lack of energy. And the fact that no matter what products I use, my face is a mess of breakouts so sitting down and doing my makeup is just so much less fun. Therefore, the vanity got transferred into plastic bins under my sink and I keep one little basket of essential makeup items on my bathroom counter.

Things that were stored in the now-nursery were transferred to the other guest room’s closet. Not all the boxes, but most. So basically, the nursery is now a mess of baby stuff instead of just a mess. I’ll take photos of the full nursery once we get the crib, recliner, etc. But for now here are some bits and pieces of Baby’s nursery and some other cute crap.

Image

Evidently, you can never have too many Boppy pillows. The one in the middle is a newborn lounger, while the other two are your basic Boppy pillows (the feeding/support ones). My mother-in-law was thoughtful enough to send two of the feeding pillows, considering that we have a two-story house and I will be feeding him upstairs at night and downstairs during the day. The cover on the pillow to the right is organic, score!

Image

Baby bath! Baby’s Grammy (my mom) loves bath time and when she came to visit a couple weeks ago, she went crazy with baby bath buys. This is one of them. It’s the Summer Bath Center & Shower. The little hammock-looking thing in the middle can fit into the sink for newborn bath time. It comes equipped with it’s own little removable shower spout, too. We’re gonna be fancy bath-timers.

Image

Pack ‘n Play. I just love owls! I don’t usually like cheesy animals on baby stuff. It’s just…tacky. This was also the pattern that our car seat was going to be in until I scored the same car seat for MUCH less, just in a different pattern.

Image

We already have a decent start on diapers…accidentally. I signed up for a free trial through The Honest Company (review coming soon!). They send you some diapers and some of their other products like shampoo and hand wash, for free, but then you are automatically enrolled in their monthly membership. You have 7 days to cancel. Obviously I don’t need the monthly membership for diapers yet, and didn’t cancel in time before they charged me and sent one box of diapers, wipes and other products. So…I’m stocked up on Size 1 diapers for now! Hopefully we like them. I also bought a pack of Earth’s Best diapers, in newborn. I plan on doing half cloth diapers, half disposables as I’m not yet sure of my post-baby working situation and I also just want to see how cloth diapering works out for us. If we like it, then we’ll move to full-time cloth diapering.

Image

This one is MY pride and joy. I put this 9 piece cube storage together (ClosetMaid brand, purchased from Target) all by myself. The hubs isn’t a Mr. Fix It and I usually end up fixing things around the house and putting things together. Initially, I had only bought 6 cubes (3 green, 3 brown). Then decided I didn’t like that look and wanted to fill it up, and bought 3 more cubes in “natural”. I like it much better now! This will be baby’s dresser. I don’t like that most dressers for nurseries are also nursery-sized (AKA awkward and smallish). So we’ll save the dresser-splurge for when the baby moves on up to a big kid room.

Image

Here’s a picture of his closet…boy, this boy has CLOTHES! That’s both sides of the closet packed full, in addition to the clothes that are in the cube storage. Here, there are sleepers hanging up. But I moved them to the cube storage, as well as basic onesies to free up some hangers and closet space.

Never did I ever think I’d be writing about babies and Boppy pillows. Evidently, when you’re pregnant, that is ALL you can think about.

Leave a Reply

