30 weeks pregnant!

Thirty weeks? THIRTY WEEKS?! I feel like I’m in the homestretch…especially since the aches, pains, over-heatedness and all that mess has kicked in to full gear and it only gets worse from here. I still try to consider this the calm before the storm 😉

 

How far along? 30 weeks and 2 days.
Total weight gain/measurements: 15 pounds total gain. I weigh 149.something (I saw the 149 and looked away really fast, missing what was after the decimal point..ahahaha). Up 4 pounds from two weeks ago! Imagine my face when I saw the scale. It was pure horror. But three of those pounds are baby, so it’s not SO bad 🙂 I actually don’t mind the weight gain at all, especially since I have heard of some women gaining twice as much as I have by this point. But there is a moment when I hear of a woman who has gained absolutely nothing during pregnancy or at least less than 10 pounds and I flip her off, inside my mind of course. I’m eating healthy, I stand all day, and I try to walk at least 3 times a week – especially since walking helps with the aches and pains. Except for uphill walking. That is just cruel.
Maternity clothes: Last week I went shopping for more shirts. Being from NY, I seriously lack in the t-shirt department. Living in SC currently, and being pregnant, t-shirts are a MUST and when I hate doing laundry…I need a lot of them haha. I didn’t get maternity-specific shirts though. I got 4 shirts in size Large from the misses section of Burke’s Outlet and a maxi dress. I still have a lot of room to grow in the shirts, which was my goal. The maxi dress is particularly exciting since, pregnant or not, I have never found a maxi dress that didn’t extend a foot past my ankles haha. I definitely do not plan on buying more clothes during my pregnancy.
Stretch marks: Nothing significantly more than what I’ve had.
Sleep: I’m getting better at sleeping on my side.. YIPEE! Especially since sleeping on my back actually gets uncomfortable from the weight of my belly. However, sleeping itself pretty much sucks. I wake up a lot, he kicks me a lot (he tends to want to practice his butterfly kicks at 11PM), and my goodness…hot flashes galore. Not to mention, I also wake up incredibly thirsty at least once a night.
Best moment this week: Having a little boy tell me I was pretty! AWWW! SO CUTE. That feels good after you’ve just been told you gained 15 pounds 😉 Baby-related though, we did the hospital tour and that was exciting. It was crazy knowing I’d be in there in just a couple months! And this was last week, but we got our crib all set up! LOVE IT. Oh and how did I forget?! Our spouses’ squadron baby shower was this weekend and it was absolutely wonderful and baby got a lot of great stuff =) It’s awesome having supportive people here, especially when family is so far away.

 
Miss anything? Nope, aside from being comfortable. Man, I really took my pre-pregnancy body for granted. And by “my body” I don’t mean my (kind of) thinness, I mean my non-achey body haha.
Movement: This kid…I’m so nervous for him to come out. He’s going to be constantly going. He moves so much and now he has started jamming his feet into my ribs. Ouch, dude, ouch.
Food cravings: Pineapple. Citrus is definitely a reoccurring theme with my cravings. I’ve always loved oranges, which I craved during the beginning of my pregnancy. But pineapple I never really ate much even though I didn’t necessarily dislike it. I just never loved it. Until now.
Anything making you queasy or sick? I am starting to fear that my luckiness with nausea is coming to a close…I had some sickness during my first trimester. Then for about 2 weeks during my second trimester. The past few days, I get nauseous in the morning if I smell anything funky. Like eggs. And when you work at a gas station that sells egg sandwiches…no bueno. I can’t complain about it TOO much though since I rarely actually get sick from nausea.
Gender: Still a boy.. I hope! At least everything except for his clothes is gender neutral if he decides to be a she 🙂
Labour signs: Either I had painful Braxton Hicks the other night or really bad round ligament pain…either way, it hurt and I got all anxious that I was going to go into early labor. Anxious as in…sobbing! From fear, not pain! Needless to say, he is still in there thank goodness!
Symptoms: Nausea. HIP PAIN and BACK PAIN. OW. Thirst. Hot flashes. Acne (but that seems to be subsiding!). A teeny bit of swelling but mostly at night. I have to sleep without my wedding rings on.
Belly button in or out? It’s starting to poke out!!!
Wedding rings on or off? On but I take them off at night because I’ve woken up twice with my finger hurting!
Happy or moody most of the time: Happy. But I do cry easily. At stupid stuff. I used to be a crier when I was little. Then I grew a backbone and an attitude and hated crying. I usually leave the room if I start to cry even a little so no one knows…haha.
Looking forward to: Getting the last piece for his nursery…a bookcase! It only makes sense for a major bookworm to dream of her son being a bookworm, too 😉 But I’m a firm believer that children should be exposed to reading at the very beginning of their life because reading is wonderful for so many reasons. I even got these adorable book ends. They are going to be used until he is in his “get-into-everything” phase, since they are heavy concrete book ends! But then they will go in another area of the house 🙂 I love them so much and highly recommend this Etsy seller, blessingandlight, and her shop has some amazing stuff! Not just for children – but decor mostly for the home in general. Very creative, shipped quickly and packaged safely.
These are the two I got:
bookends
I also want this one:
bookend2
On a side note, I am feeling MUCH more prepared now! We bought a frame stroller today ($20 lightly used, originally $70. SCORE.) Hospital bag and diaper bag pretty much all set…just need to go through them with a proper checklist. Nursery almost done (just need the bookcase and to do some rearranging). Oh goodness…in 3ish months I’ll be submerged in poopy diapers and nipple cream.
Leave a Reply

